Для корректного отображения сайта, пожалуйста, включите JavaScript.

To display the site correctly, please, enable JavaScript.

Chapter 4: Barrows

<< Previous Table of contents Next >>

In the previous chapter, we have briefly touched this kind of megaliths. Let us consider it now in detail. Moreover, here, unlike in Salisbury plains, there are not so many of them. Below, in figure 4.1 the places of their location on the sites Kerlescan and Kermario are presented. We will decimate heights as we did before.

Насыпь рядов KermarioСхема работы насыпи. Насыпь рядов Kerlescan

Figure 4.0 − a) Barrow of Kermario alignments. b) The work chart of barrows.
Barrows are marked by a red line. A vertical black segment designates menhirs.

Участок рядов KerleskanСхема работы насыпи и самих рядов

Figure 4.1 − a) The site of Kerleskan alignments b) The chart of functioning of barrows and alignments.


Now we can distinctly see nuances of location of barrows on the relief, and that both are really established across streams, which could flow in the nearest depressions. On the field, these barrows are hardly noticeable even from a close distance. Their height is less than a meter, their length is a couple tens of meters, and their width is a few meters. The first one marked in figure 4.1a is located right among alignments, and many blocks are established behind it, except for one, which is the highest and pierces it. In its foundation in the body of the barrow, there is a small chamber with a side entrance, like a small dolmen.

Such mutual relations of megaliths allow restoring the sequence of their construction. First a menhir was established which apparently marked a perspective place for gathering waste during flooding. Then nearby a small house-chamber was made. Then a barrow was made. It became an addition to a small natural ledge of the relief and this way increased productive power of this place. Last stage in the struggle for increase of collection useful product was the creation of alignmens.

Pay attention at the top part of this picture (height 28 m) − there too is a menhir. This is le Geant du Manio − the biggest menhir in the area. Next to it is a construction called a "quadrilatere" which represents a low solid stone fence (see Figure 4.2). It seems to me, that it was a place of storage of collected driftwood. The wall of stone was made not for beauty purposes, it could protect the heaps of driftwood collected at the top of the island from scattering at unusually high rising of water.

The Quadrilatere made of stones near le Giant du Manio menhir

РFigure 4.2 − The Quadrilatere made of stones near le Giant du Manio menhir.

The barrow of Kerlescan alignments (Figure 4.1c) is established at the flat top of the hill (25 m heigh), instead of the slope. The place it also is marked by a menhir. The barrow was oriented towards the stream washing the height on the West, and alignments were oriented towards the stream from the East. From the southern part of the barrow, the remains of cromlech are located. There is another cromlech on the North. The blocks forming cromlechs are established with a big interval between each other, and could only slightly fence off the places where probably some slow whirlpools were formed when water was flowing in the depression forward or backward.

Since we have mentioned the top of the hill of Kerlescan alignments, we shall note here one more construction − a wall stretching from the foundation of the barrow to the South, almost strictly following the meridian (it is marked by a red arrow). Unlike alignments, its stones are established much more densely (see Figure 4.3). By its position at the watershed in a zone of natural division of currents to the right and to the left, it interfered with carrying out the driftwood accumulated at the foundation of alignments from the East to the West, or from the West to the East. That is, played a role of a barrier, in case of a crosswind. Except for this function, it also created a wind shadow, blocking the rests of driftwood.

Стенка с западного торца рядов Kerlescan

Figure 4.3 − The wall on the western end of Kerlescan alignments.

The fragments of similar walls we can find farther to the West of Carnac. They are also established along the lines of stretching of heights − natural arrows dividing streams. It is so-called group of menhirs Vieux Moulin (Figure 4.5), the end of St-Barbe alignmemts (Figure 4.4) to northwest from a township Plouharnel. Most likely, they also had the same function − to close the alignments from the end and to interfere an output of the accumulated driftwood when the wind direction changed.

The end of St-Barbe alignments

Figure 4.4 − The end of St-Barbe alignments.

The wall of le Vieux Moulin

Figure 4.5 − The wall of le Vieux Moulin. A view from S-E. (Photo of Jacques Briard from his brochure “Carnac Land of megaliths” published by J-P Gisserot)

The arrangement of walls of St-Barbe alignments (on the left) and Vieux Moulin (on the right).

Figure 4.6 − The arrangement of walls of St-Barbe alignments (on the left) and Vieux Moulin (on the right). A red line designates the direction of their spreading. The dotted blue line designates a possible position of the alignments themselves, which were not preserved.

This chart shows the functioning of St. Michel barrow located in town Carnac.

This chart shows the functioning of St. Michel barrow located in town Carnac.

Now we shall move to Locmariaquer peninsula, to a similar village located 10 km to the East of Carnac. Here atop of a low hill the museum complex is created in which one can see a split menhir Grand Menhir Brise, tumulus (cairn) Table du Marchand, barrow (sometimes called cairn) d’Er Vingle. All restored, beautiful, partially created anew. In figure 4.7 a red rectangular marks this site.

The Locmariaquer peninsula

Figure 4.7 – The Locmariaquer peninsula. The chart of currents. (NB: ignore the displacement of coast and contours. This is expenses of preservation of the image from program PhotoExplorer. To some extent, it exists on all photographic sketches).

Before the beginning of consideration of the arrangement of megaliths, we shall make the same imaginable transformation of the relief that we had done earlier − we shall decimate it. Then the top of a hill where all of them are located will go down to the height of 1.5-2 m. During the flooding in the past there was a chain of islands and shallows on this place through which during incoming tides or onsets there was a movement of water from SW to NE equalizing the levels in the Quiberon bay and the Morbihan gulf. However, having got into the gulf water spread in all its corners, one of which was river d’Auray depression. Even now during incoming tides, the seawaters flow into it as far as 20-30 km, and earlier with a flat relief, it could be much more. Thus, along the eastern coast of this peninsula NNW current was created, similar to those, which appeared in our depressions numbered 1, 2, 3.

If one follows the logic of our assumptions, the constructions for catching floating waste had to be located in two directions. They had to be set across the stream compensating the water level in the gulf Morbihan, and across the stream into the depression of river d’Auray.

Now we shall look at figure 4.8a. Here is a close view of megaliths inside of a red rectangular with their names specified.

The site with a big broken menhir (Grand Menhir Brise) in LocmariaquerBasic diagram of barrows’ functioning on site Locmariaquer.

Figure 4.8 − a)  The site with a big broken menhir (Grand Menhir Brise) in Locmariaquer. b)  Basic diagram of barrows’ functioning on site Locmariaquer. Hatching marks zones of stagnation.

As usual, all of them are attached to the top of a height, which is now 16 m high. The direction of the restored barrow d’Er Vingle in the best possible way fits the purpose of catching of waste when water moves out of and into the Morbihan gulf. The borders of this large construction of nearly 170 m long are well visible in the picture. Beginning in the south, at a big menhir where in the past apparently was the highest place the barrow hardly sticks above the surface. A half of its length it is made of soil and only framed by stones, towering no more than 1 m. Further to the north it is made only of stones, the dam is narrowed, and the height reaches 1.5-1.7 m. Apparently, a downturn of the slope used to go in this direction.

In figure 4.10 one can see the internal structure of d’Er Vingle barrow. This is a consequence of its building-up. Probably, it was caused by desire to increase the sizes of driftwood accumulation zones, and, probably, the first changes in the relief, which led to dereliction during the floods reducing an overall performance of the barrow.


barrow d’Er Vingle

Figure 4.9 − This is how the barrow d’Er Vingle looks now. A view from the south to the northern end.

Internal structure of the barrow d’Er Vingle

Figure 4.10 − Internal structure of the barrow d’Er Vingle being revealed during the excavations. A photo from the brochure by Jean L’Helgouac’h “Locmariaquer”. A view from the North to the South.

And what about the other direction of the current? Did it remain open? No. It seems that there was another barrow for it that has not got into the museum.

At the entrance to Locmariaquer from the North one can notice a long mold covered by forest to the right of the road. This is barrow Mane Lud. Its length from the West to the East is 80 m, its width at the foundation is 50 m, and its height increases from the West to the East up to 5 m. It is extended perpendicularly to the coast, and, probably, in the ancient times at water inflow into d’Auray depression it detained floating driftwood.

The chart of functioning of the barrows on this site is shown in figure 4.8b.

Pay attention at the blue line in figure 4.8 occupying an intermediate position in orientation between the first and the second barrows. Along it at the excavations, a series of holes filled by small stones was found. Most likely, this is all that remained from one line of alignments once standing here. It was located angularly at 45 degrees to the first and the second current. Probably, it was an unsuccessful attempt of construction of the universal construction, designed for both currents.

In figure 4.12 it is possible to see how such holes looked in reality, and once again to be convinced of how seriously people took the installation of vertical stones.

The holes from blocks on the site Locmariaquer found under a layer of a ground

Figure 4.12 − The holes from blocks on the site Locmariaquer found under a layer of a ground during the excavations. A photo from a brochure by Jean L’Helgouac’h “Locmariaquer”.

In the conclusion of this chapter, I would like to note, that the position of barrows in Brittany and in England is very similar. They are located either along watersheds or across them. This testifies that to the north from Brittany, on the British Isles, people also used to catch floating waste and the processes of contrastization of relief were taking a place there as well. Therefore, in spite of preservation of a general plan of the arrangement of heights and depressions, the difference in heights between them increased, and barrows appeared to be lifted onto flood-free levels.

Lastly, pay attention to a big horizontal plate in the top part of the picture presented in figure 4.10. It closes from above a small chamber in which traces of burial place were found. Certainly, these burials have ritual value. Most likely, they were called to protect the constructions created with such pains from otherworldly forces by help of the relatives who had stepped off. The custom to bury elders under dwelling reached later times.

This situation is usual. Almost in all barrows both in Brittany and in England, they find remains buried in this way. Now, having understood how the barrows functioned it becomes clear that they had not been constructed exactly for burial purposes.

An interesting observation − these chambers located in the body of barrows should have been flooded each time at rising of water. In addition, this should have led to changing of a position of human remains and floating (wooden) subjects left in them. That is why, probably, even at the excavation of previously untouched burial places archeologists sometimes found the absence of due order that resulted in bewilderment and made them think that the remains had been transferred from somewhere else.

<< Previous Table of contents Next >>
×
Zoom In
Zoom Out
100%

Для корректного отображения сайта, пожалуйста, включите JavaScript.

To display the site correctly, please, enable JavaScript.

Глава 4: Насыпи

<< Предыдущая Содержание Следующая >>

В предыдущей главе мы немного коснулись этой разновидности мегалитов. Давайте теперь рассмотрим ее немного подробнее, тем более что здесь, в отличие от равнин Солсбери, их не так много. Ниже, на рисунке 4.1, представлены места их расположения на участках Керлескан и Кермарио крупным планом. Высоты так же, как и ранее ,уменьшаем в 10 раз.

Насыпь рядов KermarioСхема работы насыпи. Насыпь рядов Kerlescan

Рисунок 4.0 - а) Насыпь рядов Kermario b) Схема работы насыпи.
Насыпи обозначены красным отрезком прямой. Вертикальным черным отрезком обозначены менгиры.

Участок рядов KerleskanСхема работы насыпи и самих рядов

Рисунок 4.1 - а) Участок рядов Kerleskan b) Схема работы насыпи и самих рядов.


Теперь мы отчетливо видим нюансы положения насыпей в рельефе, и то что и одна и другая, действительно, установлены поперек потоков, которые могли идти по ближайшим депрессиям. На местности эти насыпи едва заметны даже с близкого расстояния. Высота их менее метра, протяженность первые десятки метров, ширина несколько метров. Первая, обозначенная на рисунке 4.1а, располагается прямо среди рядов, и многие блоки установлены на нее, за исключением одного, самого высокого, который ее протыкает. В его основании, в теле насыпи находится небольшая камера со входом сбоку, вроде маленького дольмена.

Такие взаимоотношения мегалитов позволяют восстановить последовательность их строительства. Сначала был установлен менгир, отмечавший, по-видимому, это перспективное для сбора мусора место во время затопления. Потом рядом с ним был сделан домик-пещерка. Потом насыпь, дополнившая небольшой природный выступ рельефа и увеличивающая тем самым урожайность места. Последним этапом в борьбе за увеличение добычи полезного продукта – было создание рядов.

Обратите внимание на верхнюю часть этого снимка (высота 28м) – там тоже стоит менгир. Это le Geant du Manio – самый большой менгир в районе. А рядом с ним, сооружение, называемое «прямоугольник» (quadrilatere), которое представляет собой невысокую сплошную каменную изгородь (см. Рисунок 4.2). Мне кажется, что это было местом хранения собираемого плавника. Каменная стенка сделана не для красоты, она могла защищать кучи плавника, собранные на вершине острова, от разноса при необычно высоком подъеме воды.

Прямоугольник (Quadrilatere) из камней у менгира le Giant du Manio

Рисунок 4.2 - Прямоугольник (Quadrilatere) из камней у менгира le Giant du Manio.

Насыпь рядов Kerlescan (Рисунок 4.1c), установлена на плоской вершине холма (высота 25м), а не на склоне. Место это также отмечено менгиром. Она была ориентирована на поток, омывающий возвышенность с запада, а ряды, - на поток с востока. С южной стороны от насыпи расположены остатки кромлеха. Есть кромлех и с севера. Блоки, формирующие кромлехи, установлены с большим интервалом друг от друга, и могли лишь слегка отгораживать места, где, возможно, возникали медленные водовороты при проходе воды по депрессии вперед или назад.

Раз уж мы упомянули вершину холма рядов Kerlescan, отметим здесь еще одно сооружение – стенку, протягивающуюся от основания насыпи на юг, почти строго по меридиану (она отмечена красной стрелкой). В отличии от рядов, камни в ней установлены гораздо плотнее (см. Рисунок 4.3). Своим положением на водоразделе, в зоне естественного разделения течений вправо и влево, она препятствовала выносу скопившегося в основании рядов плавника с востока на запад или с запада на восток. То есть, исполняла роль барьера, в случае если появлялся боковой ветер. Кроме этой функции, она так же создавала аэродинамическую тень, задерживающую его остатки.

Стенка с западного торца рядов Kerlescan

Рисунок 4.3 - Стенка с западного торца рядов Kerlescan.

Фрагменты аналогичных стен мы встречаем еще западнее Карнака. Они тоже установлены по линиям удлинения возвышенностей – природным стрелкам, разделяющим потоки. Это т.н. группа менгиров Vieux Moulin (Рисунок 4.5), торец рядов St-Barbe (Рисунок 4.4) к северо-западу от городка Plouharnel. Скорее всего, они имели и ту же функцию – закрывать ряды с торца и препятствовать выходу из них скопившегося плавника при изменении направлении ветра.

Торец рядов St-Barbe

Рисунок 4.4 - Торец рядов St-Barbe.

Стенка le Vieux Moulin фото Jacques Briard из его брошюры Carnac Land of megaliths

Рисунок 4.5 - Стенка le Vieux Moulin. Вид с S-E. (фото Jacques Briard из его брошюры “Carnac Land of megaliths” изд. J-P Gisserot)

Расположение стенок рядов St-Barbe (слева) и Vieux Moulin (справа)

Рисунок 4.6 - Расположение стенок рядов St-Barbe (слева) и Vieux Moulin (справа). Направление их простирания обозначено красной линией. Пунктирной голубой линией, обозначено возможное положение самих рядов, которые не сохранились.

На этой схеме изображена работа насыпи St. Michel,расположенной в г. Carnac

На этой схеме изображена работа насыпи St. Michel,расположенной в г. Carnac

Ну а теперь перенесемся на полуостров Locmariaquer, в одноименную деревню, расположенную в 10 км восточнее городка Carnac. Здесь, на вершине невысокого холма, создан музейный комплекс, в котором можно увидеть расколотый менгир Grand Menhir Brise, тумулюс (cairn) Table du Marchand, насыпь (cairn) d’Er Vingle. Все отреставрированное, красивое, частично созданное заново. На рисунке 4.7 этот участок обозначен красным прямоугольником.

Полуостров Locmariaquer. Схема течений

Рисунок 4.7 - Полуостров Locmariaquer. Схема течений. (NB: На смещение берега и горизонталей внимание обращать не надо - это издержки сохранения изображения из программы PhotoExplorer, оно есть в той или иной степени на всех фотосхемах.)

Перед началом рассмотрения особенностей расположения здесь мегалитов мысленно произведем ту же трансформацию рельефа, что мы делали и раньше – понизим его в 10 раз. Тогда вершина холма, где все они расположены, понизится до высоты 1.5-2м. При затоплении в прошлом на этом месте была цепочка островов и отмелей, сквозь которую во время приливов или нагонов возникало движение воды с SW на NE, выравнивающее уровни в бухте Куберон и заливе Морбиан. Но, попав в залив, вода растекалась во все его уголки, одним из которых была депрессия р. d’Auray. И сейчас во время приливов морские воды проникают в нее на 20-30км, а раньше при равнинном рельефе это могло быть гораздо больше. Таким образом, вдоль восточного берега этого полуострова создавалось течение на NNW, аналогичное тем которые возникали в наших пронумерованных депрессиях 1,2,3.

Если оставаться в логике наших предположений, то здесь, сооружения для улавливания плавающего мусора надо было располагать в двух направлениях. Поперек потока компенсирующего уровень воды в заливе Morbihan, и потока в депрессию р. d’Auray.

А теперь посмотрим на рисунок 4.8а. Здесь изображены крупным планом мегалиты внутри красного прямоугольника и указаны их названия.

Участок большого разломанного менгира (Grand Menhir Brise) в LocmariaquerПринципиальная схема работы насыпей на участке Locmariaquer

Рисунок 4.8 - а) Участок большого разломанного менгира (Grand Menhir Brise) в Locmariaquer. b) Принципиальная схема работы насыпей на участке Locmariaquer.
Штриховкой отмечены зоны застоя.

Как обычно все они приурочены к вершине возвышенности, высота которой сейчас 16м. Направление отреставрированной насыпи d’Er Vingle как нельзя лучше соответствует улавливанию мусора при движении воды из- и в- залив Morbihan. Границы этого крупного сооружения, длиной около 170м, хорошо видны на снимке. Начинаясь на юге у большого менгира, где, по-видимому, раньше было самое высокое место, насыпь по уровню почти не выделяется над поверхностью. На половину своей длинны она сложена грунтом и только обрамлена камнями, возвышаясь не более 1м. Далее на север её заполнение становиться полностью каменным, дамба сужается, а высота достигает 1.5-1.7 м. По-видимому, в этом направлении тогда шло понижение склона.

На рисунке 4.10 видно внутреннее строение насыпи d’Er Vingle. Это следствие её наращивания. Возможно, это было вызвано желанием увеличить размеры зон накопления плавника, а, возможно, начавшимися изменениями в рельефе, вызвавшими отступление воды во время затоплений, снижающие эффективность работы насыпи.


Так выглядит насыпь d’Er Vingle сейчас. Вид с юга на северную оконечность

Рисунок 4.9 - Так выглядит насыпь d’Er Vingle сейчас. Вид с юга на северную оконечность

Внутреннее троение насыпи d’Er Vingle вскрытое во время раскопок. Фото из брошюры Jean L’Helgouac’h Locmariaquer. Вид с севера на юг

Рисунок 4.10 - Внутреннее строение насыпи d’Er Vingle ,вскрытое во время раскопок. Фото из брошюры Jean L’Helgouac’h “Locmariaquer”. Вид с севера на юг.

Ну а второе направление течения осталось не охваченным? Нет. Для него, похоже, существовала другая насыпь, не попавшая в музейную зону.

При въезде в Locmariaquer с севера справа от дороги можно заметить длинный заросший лесом вал – это насыпь Mane Lud. Длина её с запада на восток - 80м, ширина по основанию 50м, а высота возрастает с запада на восток до 5м. Она вытянута перпендикулярно берегу, и, видимо, в древности при поступлении воды в депрессию d’Auray она задерживала на себе плывущий вдоль него плавник.

Схема работы насыпей на этом участке показана на рисунке 4.8b.

Обратите внимание на рисунок 4.8 на голубую линию, занимающее по простиранию промежуточное положение между одной и второй насыпью. По ней при раскопках была обнаружена серия лунок, заполненных небольшими камнями. Скорее всего, это все, что осталось от одной линии рядов (alignments), некогда тут стоящей. Она располагалась под углом в 45 градусов к одному и к другому течению. Возможно, это была неудачная попытка строительства универсального сооружения, рассчитанная и на одно и на другое течение.

На рисунке 4.12 можно посмотреть, как такие лунки выглядели в натуре, и еще раз убедится насколько серьезно люди относились к установке вертикальных камней.

унки от блоков на участка Locmariaquer вскрытые под слоем грунта во время раскопок. Фото из брошюры Jean L’Helgouac’h Locmariaquer

Рисунок 4.12 - Лунки от блоков на участка Locmariaquer, вскрытые под слоем грунта во время раскопок. Фото из брошюры Jean L’Helgouac’h “Locmariaquer”.

В заключении этой главы хотелось бы отметить, что положение насыпей в Бретани и в Англии очень похоже. Они расположены либо вдоль водоразделов, либо поперек их. Это свидетельствует о том, что и к северу от Бретани, на британских островах, также ловили плавающий мусор и там тоже прошли процессы контрастизации рельефа. В результате чего, при сохранении общего плана расположения возвышенностей и депрессий, возросла между ними разница в высотах, и насыпи оказались подняты на незатопляемые уровни.

И последнее. Обратите внимание на большую горизонтальную плиту в верхней части снимка, представленного на рисунке 4.10. Она закрывает сверху небольшую камеру, в которой были найдены следы захоронения. Конечно, эти погребения имеют ритуальное значение. Скорее всего, они были призваны защищать от потусторонних сил, с помощью ушедших в мир иной родственников, созданные с таким трудом сооружения. Обычай хоронить старейшин под жилищем дошел и до более поздних времен.

Эта ситуация обычная. Почти во всех насыпях и в Бретани и в Англии находят погребенные таким образом останки. Вряд ли теперь, поняв, как работали насыпи, стоит думать, что именно для захоронений они и были сооружены.

Любопытный момент - ведь камеры эти, расположенные в теле насыпи, каждый раз при подъёме воды, должны были затопляться. А это не могло не приводить к нарушению положения человеческих останков и плавающих (деревянных) предметов оставленных в них. Вот почему, возможно, даже при раскопках нетронутых ранее таких захоронений археологи иногда обнаруживали отсутствие в них должного порядка, что приводило их в недоумение и заставляло предполагать, что останки перенесены сюда откуда-то.

<< Предыдущая Содержание Следующая >>
×
Zoom In
Zoom Out
100%